One Month To Learn

In one month, setting up my own classroom for the first time ever, and losing it in the end, I learned…

How to create a classroom space, finally, that works — and that not every space can work for every class.

I learned that no matter what I set up, one child and one parent will love it, and one will hate it. And if I change it to please one, another will be disappointed.

I learned how to run really good Responsive Classroom morning meetings with greetings and activities, afternoon meetings with sharing and music and appreciations, and occasional class councils to work out difficulties.

I learned how to organize a long-term project-based learning project  based around students interests.

I learned a bit about how to manage high-sensory need students and autistic students.

I learned how to run a good math group based on Cognitively Guided Instruction principles.

I learned and practiced accurately assessing reading levels and writing levels, and how to start and maintain a portfolio of work that keeps track of what students are learning.

I learned that I am a wonderful singer and guitar leader with my students, and that they can partake in my joy of music.

I learned to use music to signal transitions and to make transition requirements clear.

I learned how to collect and organize student work.

I learned how to create wall displays that are not distracting to ADD kids.

I learned how to set up a library based on the real reading levels of my students and not what I think they would be.

I learned that I can create some really good, engaging literature-based projects that grab students’ imaginations.

I learned to create a schedule that works through flexibility and consistency.

I learned to ask friends and colleagues for help, and to avoid, when possible, the influence of negative people. And when they can’t be avoided, I learned that negative people can’t destroy me.

I learned that sometimes things are not fair and there is nothing you can do about it except maintain your own integrity and wholeness and walk away.

I learned that I have a need for boundaries and that I respect my own need and the needs of others for healthy boundaries, and that I can’t thrive in a place where boundaries are unclear or unhealthily intrusive or loose.

I learned that no matter what someone says to me, I can learn from them, but I don’t have to believe that their opinions are always correct. I have learned to seek the second opinions of people I trust.

I have learned that there are people out there who want to help me learn. And those are the people I can choose to surround myself with.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

I Love Nature Books

I check out more picture books than my six-year old twins put together - especially those on science and nature. I hope my reviews will be a useful resource to you!

Downsizing Dad

Discovering the mysteries of family as I help my Dad simplify his life.

prayer & practice

Just another WordPress.com site

Raising Literate Humans

Join me on my journey to raise my children to read the word and read the world.

Klarinet

Simple life with cacti

Explorergarden's Weblog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

Great Mentor Texts

This WordPress.com site is the cat’s pajamas

Nature Explorer

Just another WordPress.com site

There's a Book for That

Where book love and the joy of a classroom community are shared

Emily Louise Heard

Painting Happiness

GARDEN OF EADY

Bring new life to your garden!

Reflections on Leadership and Learning

Sharing my learning experiences

The Reading Zone

I am a reader, a teacher, a writer, a thinker, a reviewer, and a dreamer of dreams.

TWO WRITING TEACHERS

A meeting place for a world of reflective writers.

Waking Brain Cells

"I like nonsense, it wakes up the brain cells." — Dr. Seuss

Nerdy Book Club

A community of readers

Bug Gwen

Entomology. Ranting. Nerdery.

